Wednesday, January 06, 2010

Dum Dum Girls single, album and UK tour

Dum Dum Girls' new single Jail La La is out on February 15, inevitably and rather wondrously revealing absolutely no musical progression whatsoever. The debut album, I Will Be, follows on March 29, which will undoubtedly be more of the same. If it ain’t broke, don’t try to mix it.

There’s a UK tour next month, although at the moment “UK” means “London”, but more dates may be added:
25-Feb London Bardens Boudoir
26-Feb London White Light @ Lexington
27-Feb London The Rest Is Noise
02-Mar London White Heat @ Madam JoJos

Anyway, the press release is here:
Released on February 15th via Sub Pop Records (SP869) ‘Jail La La’ is the first, and rather fine blissed-out pop 7” single taken from the Dum Dum Girls debut album, I Will Be (Sub Pop, March 29th). The single will be backed with ‘Play With Fire’ a track which is exclusive to this release and does not appear on the album.

Featured as the #1 best band at 2009’s CMJ festival, Dum Dum Girls have confirmed their FIRST UK shows in February for a series of dates across the capital.

Having released an EP on Captured Tracks, a 7-inch on Hozac and a CD EP on Zoo Music, the Dum Dum Girls churn out blissful pop that falls somewhere between The Ramones and the Ronettes. Which, in our opinion, is a very good thing.

Produced by Dee Dee and Richard Gottehrer (Strangeloves, Voidoids, Blondie, The Go-Gos and, more recently, The Raveonettes), I Will Be is neither lo-fi nor too polished. Just eleven songs in under thirty minutes -- it’s a short tribute to love, fun and the classic pop form of the ’60’s girl groups and early punk rockers.

I Will Be Tracklisting
1. It Only Takes One Night
2. Bhang Bhang, I’m a Burnout
3. Oh Mein M
4. Jail La La
5. Rest of Our Lives
6. Yours Alone
7. Blank Girl
8. I Will Be
9. Lines Her Eyes
10. Everybody’s Out
11. Baby Don’t Go

No comments: