Monday, June 25, 2007

Edwyn Collins

Edwyn Collins
Announces the release of new album.
*press release*

Edwyn Collins releases a new album, Home Again, through Heavenly Recordings on September 17th 2007. A single, You’ll Never Know, will precede the 12 track self-produced album on September 10th.

The full track listing for the album is as follows:

1. One Is A Lonely Number
2. Home Again
3. You’ll Never Know
4. 7th Son
5. Leviathan
6. In Your Heart
7. Superstar Talking Blues
8. Liberteenage Rag
9. A Heavy Sigh
10. Written In Stone
11. One Track Mind
12. Then I Cried

Home Again, Edwyn’s 6th solo long player, was recorded at West Heath, his own North West London studio in late 2004 / early 2005 before he suffered a serious illness. Work to complete the album was resumed earlier this year following a long period of rehabilitation.

Edwyn formed his first band, The Nu-Sonics in Glasgow in 1976 and was later to form Orange Juice and the hugely influential Postcard Records on which they released a string of acclaimed singles including Falling And Laughing & Simply Thrilled Honey in the late 1970s. They went on to record 4 ambitious albums which fused the rhythm and drive of Chic & Stax with an edge and attitude born out of their post-punk roots; such a sound was, at the time, completely unique and their influence on
subsequent waves of British guitar bands cannot be underestimated.

Orange Juice disbanded in 1985 and Edwyn has subsequently enjoyed a successful solo career (his 1994 single A Girl Like You was a worldwide hit) and has produced a number of albums, including The Cribs 2004 long player The New Fellas. He has released 5 solo albums since his debut, Hope And Despair in 1989.

1 comment:

ally. said...

can't wait - edwyn lps are always a treasure